Go to ...

Skill Reporter

Informational updates on skill development, technical vocational education and training

Skill Reporter on Google+Skill Reporter on YouTubeSkill Reporter on LinkedInSkill Reporter on PinterestRSS Feed

February 26, 2018

Textile Minister Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani awarded “Life Time Achievement Award” to Apparel Made-Ups & Home Furnishing Sector Skill Council (AMHSSC) Chairman

New Delhi: – The Union Textiles Minister, Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani presented “Life Time Achievement Award” to Padmashree Dr. A Sakthivel, Chairman AMHSSC at AEPC Export Awards, 2015-2016 in Delhi. A native of Chettikapalayam in Coimbatore district, Mr. Sakthivel owns Poppy’s group of companies. During his tenure, knitwear exports from Tirupur grew from a mere Rs. 700 crore per annum to Rs. 22,000 crore per annum. He was instrumental in bringing an Apparel park project and a knitwear fashion institute to Tirupur. Under his initiative, a knitwear technology mission was launched in Tirupur recently to help the knitwear manufacturers diversify into synthetic knitwear garments from the traditional cotton based knitwear products.

Speaking on the occasion the Union Minister of Textiles, Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani, said that we will do our utmost within our constitutional framework to strengthen the industry.  In the wake of demonetization, the Textiles Ministry has helped open 5 lakh bank accounts for associated workers in the industry in a period of three weeks. The Minister said that the Government is also ensuring that the workers are trained to digitally use their bank accounts. Smt. Irani further said that to further promote exports, there should be an award for the best player in emerging market in the next award season. Industry should also head towards sustainable garments from an international perspective and should look for innovation either in marketing or technology.

The Union Minister of Textiles presented the awards comprising twenty-two categories. The awards were divided into multiple categories; and the key awards were: Shahi Exports Pvt. Ltd., Harish Ahuja, Managing Director (Faridabad, Haryana), Orient Craft Ltd., Mr. Sudhir Dhingra, CMD (Gurgaon, Haryana), Gokaldas Exports Ltd, Mr. P. Ramababu, Vice Chairman and MD (Bangalore), Pearl Global Industries Ltd., Mr. Pulkit Seth, Vice Chairman and MD (Gurgaon, Haryana), Pratibha, Mr. Shreyaskar Chaudhary, MD (Madhya Pradesh), Raymond Group of Companies (Garment business), Mr. Vishal Pratap Singh Bist, Director (Bangalore), Penguin Apparels (P) Ltd. Mrs. Anita Elango, Human Development Manager (Madurai, Tamil Nadu),  Jyoti Apparels, Mr. Varinder Kumar, Managing Partner (New Delhi), Loyal Textile Mills Ltd., Mr. Manikam Ramaswami, Chairman and MD (Tamil Nadu).

Note: News shared for public awareness with reference from the information provided at online news portals.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

More Stories From SSC