BRICS Network Universities likely to start this year, 12 Indian institutes nominated to participate

BRICS nations (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) agreed to conceptualize BRICS Network Universities this year. This is a unique concept or say a modified version of multi-nation exchange program where 2-3 or more institutions from different BRICS nations will work collaboratively towards delivery of Certificate, Degree, Masters and PhD programs. BRICS act as a network interface to facilitate interaction.

12 institutions from every BRICS nation will be identified and engaged to deliver the partial delivery of the program. From India, 12 India institutes of repute have been nominated to participate in the BRICS Network University project. 6 fields have been identified by India and every institution will deal with the field of its excellence.

Participating institutions along with their field of participation are:

Computer Science and Information Security – IIT, Kharagpur and NIT, Warangal
Energy – IIT, Bombay and BHU, Varanasi
BRICS Studies – TISS, Mumbai and Jamia Milia Islamia, New Delhi
Economics – Delhi University and IGIDR, Mumbai
Ecology & Climate Change – VNIT, Nagpur and Teri University, Delhi
Water Resource & Pollution – IIT, Kanpur and NIT, Durgpur

Students are required to study in different countries during the course and they will get credits for the course completed in that country. Based on the aggregation of credits, final certificate will be issued. Similarly faculty will also be required to teach in different nations under Faculty Exchange Program. For this first year, Russia will handle the Secretariat and India will bear the secretarial authority next year.

Note: News shared for public awareness with reference from the information provided at news portals.